Last Updated 23.09.08
UK Club Directory
UK Club Round Up
Dance Festivals
Arena Tours
Ibiza Information
Club Reviews
Club Pictures
Album Reviews
Message Board
Interactive Items
Mobile Phone
Mailing List
Site Info
Add to Favorites
Set as Homepage

Stereo Sushi - Vol 14

Title: Stereo Sushi - Vol 14
Artist: Various
Label: Hed Kandi
Genre: Hi-fidelity Soulful House Music, Fresh From The Deep
Price: £11.98
Buy Online: Click Here
Release Date: 6th October 2008

Track Samples: N/A
Track Listings: Click Here
Details: Making its final appearance for 2008, Stereo Sushi’s 14th outing is the perfect recipe for a delectable banquet of hi-fidelity soulful house fresh from the deep. Featuring another stunningly detailed hand-drawn illustration by world-renowned artist Si Scott on the cover, the latest edition of Stereo Sushi is a veritable cornucopia of tempting floor-fillers spread generously unmixed across 2 discs.

Dishing up a ladle full of soulful sounds CD1 opens with Sonny J Mason’s ‘Life Is The Music’ stripped to its vocal bones by Random Soul. Chick 2000’s string propelled ‘Love Tonight’ gets a savoury make over from Knee Deep as the fender Rhodes of White Soul Project’s ‘Give In’ adds a rich diva sauce. Sushi favourites The MuthaFunkaz get hold of ‘Look a Little Further’ from Domu & Pete Simpson and give it a hip swaying roll, paving the way for Central Avenue’s reheat of Steve Stone’s ‘Free To Go’ and Richard Earnshaw’s sublime Sushi rub down of No Halo’s ‘Put Your Hands On’. DJ Fudge’s ‘Keep On’ gets a Layabouts 2008 Re-groove, Michelle Weeks lays down the law on Soul Syndicate’s ‘Love 4 Love’ as re-spiced by Soul Buddha as DJ Memę’s ‘Sun Is Coming Out’ Ft Gavin Bradley, Danny Clarke and Jay Brown’s ‘Attracted to You’ featuring the incomparable Angie Brown and Grant Nelson’s special edit of Bobby D’Abrosio’s ‘Love Forever More Amen’ lead on to the last morsel of disc one, Joey Negro’s Sunburst Band gently simmering on ‘Journey To The Sun’

CD2’s menu opens with Karizma’s stabbing Old Skool mix of Reel People featuring Darien’s ‘Upside’ which makes way for Shawn Christopher’s classic ‘Don’t Lose This Magic’ with added seasoning from Baggi Begovic & Soul Conspiracy. Andy Holder’s ‘Jump For Joy’ featuring some silky vocal action from Erick Dillard sees Central Avenue making a second appearance in the remix kitchen as the Sushi crew start to ramp up the vibes. Fanatix’s ‘Wake Up’ featuring Kadija Kamara, MAS Collective’s ‘Joy’ and Stacy Mallory’s ‘Changes’ featuring the dulcet tones of Gerideau all hit the dance floor spot before The MuthaFunkaz return to add some of their own unique flavour to Reggie Hall’s ‘Something Better’. Reel Sessions roll with the funky licks on ‘Take Me’ and Rachel Claudio’s ‘Gotcha’ gets a lush rubdown from Nassau as living legend Joey Negro gets a retouch from the ever reliable DJ Spen, leaving Studio Apartment’s ‘Sun Will Shine’ and Shuya Okino Featuring Diviniti’s ‘Shine’ as refried by Mood II Swing to bring another feast of funky soulful House to a satisfying close.

With a series of Stereo Sushi dates happening across the country, there are plenty of chances to have your fill of the Sushi sound before another bumper year in 2009.
Rating: 7.5 / 10 – Silver Award
Review written by: Oli Pavitt
Back to Album Reviews: Click Here
No part of this website can be reproduced without prior consent.
Copyright © UK-CL 2008, All rights reserved.