Last Updated 24.09.08
UK Club Directory
UK Club Round Up
Dance Festivals
Arena Tours
Ibiza Information
Club Reviews
Club Pictures
Album Reviews
Message Board
Interactive Items
Mobile Phone
Mailing List
Site Info
Add to Favorites
Set as Homepage

Azuli Presents D Ramirez - ‘Headliners’

Title: Azuli Presents D Ramirez - ‘Headliners’
Mixed By: D Ramirez
Label: Azuli Records
Genre: House
Price: £11.99
Buy Online: Click Here
Release Date: 29th September 2008

Track Samples: N/A
Track Listings: Click Here
Details: After the huge success of his 2007 remix of Bodyrox’s dance floor smasher ‘yeah yeah’, two mix albums, an album of his own productions and remixes, house heavyweights Azuli Records are proud to welcome DJ Mag’s best British producer and remixer of the year, the legendary D. Ramirez to the decks!

Feeling he had done all he could with the sound he was experimenting with in the late nineties, Dean Marriot begun to explore the New York tribal sound that was emerging at the time. His ability to produce fresh and innovative tracks has seen him release on labels such as Toolroom Records, Underwater, Four:twenty Recordings, Yoshitoshi, Blanco Y Negro, Junior , Choo Choo, Phonetic, Thrust, Whoop!, Lot 49 and of course his own Slave imprint!

After fifteen years of innovative releases, Ramirez steps up to the plate to mix the first in Club Azuli’s groundbreaking ‘Headliners’ series which will showcase house heroes, the cream of the world’s pioneering dance producers and DJs and will feature specially commissioned beats from those moving dance floors around the globe.

Deep and brooding from the outset, mixed seamlessly over two CDs and boasting tracks yet to be released, D. Ramirez proves that he is still sitting pretty where he belongs, at the forefront of the electronic music scene. Easing us into the mix with Stimming’s ‘Kleine Nachtmisik’ D. Ramirez sets the tone for what is to be an hour of, deep house, dark industrial sythns and varied beats. Gliding through
hard hitters from German boys Turntablerockers and Class 71 and appearances from Youngster and Musik Xpress

The second bite of the mix kicks into action with the industrial, minimal vibes of Kristoph and Nyra’s ‘Pillar Fight’ before the pace rises to make way for a Tech Dub of Ariel’s Hambre and slides into Flat B’s relentlessly snappy ‘Flat Cell’. Mike Monday’s intense ‘Hello Nest’ is next in line before the mix is taken down a notch to make way for keening sythns of Emmanuel’s ‘Parade’. The clunking minimal beats of Matthias Tanzmann’s ‘Crazy Circus’ pave the way for Solieb’s ‘Lovesong?’ before dropping into a remix of Lucian Foort’s heady ‘Sound of Love’ and gliding through Oliver Klein & Peter Jürgens ‘Scoville.’ A hard hitting dub mix of Angel Anx’s Diesel Shower smashes into the mix before Radio Slave pushes the tempo with a retouched version of ‘Bell Clap Dance.’ The mix glides into the deep groves of Danny Tangelia’s ‘The Space Dance’ (Terrance Vocalism Mix) and is followed by two of Ramirez’s own tracks driving the mix forward trough hard hitters from Butch and Broombeck slithering through his own atmospheric collaboration with Aussi legend Dirty South. Samuel l Sessions feat. Elbee Bad)’s ‘Off The Chain’ is next in line before Ramirez closes proceedings in style with another of his own, a collaboration with the Czech Republic’s finest she-DJ Lucca.

Pushing boundaries and refusing to stand still… after fifteen years, D. Ramirez is still making waves in the world of house music.

The ‘Headliners’ album is also available in unmixed format and the following tracks are exclusive to the album: D. Ramirez 'The Road of Excess' (slave), D. Ramirez 'physiological rhythms' (slave), D. Ramirez 'Reminder of Jasper'(slave), Class 71 - Alba Adriatica (fourtwenty).

The D. Ramirez launch party will take place on 11th October and the ‘Headliners’ tour will be tearing up dance floors around the country from September. D. Ramirez and Dirty South ‘Shield’ will be released in September and will also include an exclusive D. Ramirez remix.
Rating: 7 / 10 – Silver Award
Review written by: Oli Pavitt
Back to Album Reviews: Click Here
No part of this website can be reproduced without prior consent.
Copyright © UK-CL 2008, All rights reserved.